Workflow Editor portlet (legacy user interface)

The Workflow Editor portlet lets you create, edit, and view workflows.

A workflow consists of:

  • Steps grouped in phases
  • Connectors between steps
For each step, you see its icon and name. If a connector has a conditional processing rule, you see the name of the rule. If you see only a portion of a name, hover over it to see the full name.

If the rule names for connectors overlap you see [...]. Hover over it to see a list of the overlapping rule names with their connectors highlighted. Select or hover over a connector to see its rule name.

If you are authorized to edit workflows, you see a grid in the background if the workflow is disabled and has no active jobs.

The Workflow Editor portlet on the Workflow page with the PDF workflow displayed.

To add a step, click the icon for a step template in the Workflow Objects portlet and drag it onto the Workflow Editor portlet. A rectangular drop zone appears. As you move the step, the drop zone moves with it. When you release the mouse button, Ricoh ProcessDirector places the step in the drop zone. Phases resize automatically when you add, move, or delete steps.

To search the Workflow Editor portlet for a specific step, you can type in the Find step field at the top of the Workflow Editor portlet. To search within specific phases, click (Arrow icon) next to the Find step field and select or deselect the phases from the drop-down list.

To add a connector between steps, hover over the step. You see a blue connector head on the right side of the step. Click the connector head and drag the blue arrow that appears onto another step.

To add a step between two connected steps, click the icon for a step template, drag it onto the Workflow Editor portlet, and position the drop zone over the connector. When you release the mouse button, Ricoh ProcessDirector splits the connector in two and attaches both new connectors to the new step.

To replace a step, click the icon for a step template in the Workflow Objects portlet and drag it over an existing step. When you release the mouse button, Ricoh ProcessDirector asks if you want to replace the highlighted step. Click Yes. The connectors are attached to the new step. If they have rules, they keep them.

To see the properties for a step or connector, select it. The properties are shown in the Properties portlet.

To change the properties for a step or connector, select it and click Properties (Properties icon) on the Workflow Editor or Properties portlet.

To delete a step or connector, select it and click Delete (Delete icon). Deleting a step that is connected to other steps also deletes the connectors. You see a confirmation message.

To undo actions, click Undo (Undo icon) one or more times.

To reverse an Undo action, click Redo (Redo icon).

To save a workflow, click Save workflow (Save workflow icon) or Save as (Save as workflow icon).

 
Copyright © 2006, 2018